top of page
  • Writer's pictureRobin Alexander

Pull Up a Chair & Chat with an Author (or Two) ~ with Fort Wayne Authors Traci Douglass & L.A. Reminicky

Updated: Mar 27




Before we head out to parts unknown, we wouldn't be done with Ft. Wayne until we talked to a couple of local authors.

But before I introduce our guests, I do want to let you know that we will be visiting with local authors in every (or nearly every) destination we visit - because what would a bookish trip be without getting to know the people behind the words?


So with that in mind, I'd like to introduce to you author Traci Douglass:





and author L.A. Reminicky:





RMA: Ladies, thank you so much for joining us! Let's start out with how long you've been in the area. Have you both always lived in Fort Wayne?


LAR: Yes, I’ve lived here all my life except for the 6 months I lived in Columbia City.

TD: Yes, me too.


RMA: You've got one up on me. I've only been here for 8 years, so I'm sure you can tell us a whole lot more about the area than I can. What are some of your favorite things to do in the area?


TD: Oh gosh. So many! I love going downtown in the summers for festivals. Love walking through the Botanical Conservatory and the Art Museum. Eating at Coney Island.


RMA: The Botanical Conservatory is one of my favorite places, too. It's so pretty in there. L.A., what about you? What are some of your favorite places in town?


LAR: Personally, I love the zoo and going to Coney Island.


RMA: I've never been to Coney Island, I'll have to take the family there before we leave the area. They'll probably love it - they all like hot dogs. Where do you like to go in the area for bookish escape?

TD: Well, since my all-time fave Borders closed (RIP Borders) and the amazing Little Professor Bookstore is gone too (I once met the legendary Anne Rice there when she stopped during a book tour. She signed my copy of The Servant of the Bones and chatted



with me for a while. So sweet!), I now like to spend time at Barnes and Noble. Or, if I’m looking for adventure, Hyde Brothers Used Books is a great place to spend an afternoon.  Never know what you’ll find there. And, of course, our gorgeous library downtown is always a treat too!


LAR: Hyde Brothers – I could get lost in there for days!


RMA: We just found that little treasure last year. I was actually shocked at how big Hyde Brothers is - outside, it looks pretty small, but inside it feels like it goes on for days! Okay, I'd like to shift gears just a little bit now and talk about your books. Lori, let's start with you. Can you tell us a little bit about any books that you've written that take place in the area?


LAR: My Fairfield Corners series takes place in a fictional small town near Fort Wayne. They are spicy contemporary romances with a paranormal twist.


RMA: Do you have any scenes that are set in a Fort Wayne restaurant or another location?


LR: I do have scenes that take place in the zoo and the Coliseum (a hockey game). I also have a story in an anthology that takes place in FW where they go the Clara’s Pizza.


RMA: Awesome! Okay, Traci, same questions for you. Can you tell us about any books that take place in the area?


TD: How to Seduce A Bad Boy is the first book in my Point Beacon series with Entangled Bliss and it takes place in a fictional Indiana town I created called Point Beacon. The town is an amalgamation of all the great small places around NE Indiana, including Fort Wayne, Auburn, Angola, Garrett, etc. The story is about a best friend’s little sister, grumpy/sunshine, forced proximity, forbidden romance where basically my heroine asks the guy she’s had a crush on since high school (her older brother’s best friend) to help her lose her virginity. But it’s a sweet romance, so all the sexy times happen off-page.


RMA: I'll have to get my hands on that one. Are there any scenes that readers will recognize as Ft. Wayne?


TD: Not any that I name, but I think readers from this area will recognize different parts throughout Indiana, like the diner they go to, which is based on the now-defunct Schoop’s in Warsaw, or the town square which is reminiscent of so many town squares in NE Indiana. They also take a trip to Keystone Mall in Indy and eat at the Cheesecake Factory there.


RMA: That's awesome. Ladies, I really appreciate you both taking the time to talk with us. Before we close, can you both tell me about any upcoming or recently released projects you have and also where readers can find your books? Traci, we'll start with you on this question.


TD: Right now, I’m starting a new Christmas book for Harlequin Medicals. It’s set in Boston and is part of a continuity (where characters from one book show up in others and all the books share the same location) with four other authors. No title yet for this one, but it should be out Oct/Nov 2023. And I just turned in another Medicals title last month which takes place in a new series for me set in a small town in Massachusetts called Wyckford, on the shored of Buzzards Bay. They’ll be four interconnected books set there, with the first one Single Dad’s Unexpected Reunion, out in July 2023. My books can be found at all major online retailers or through Harlequin.com or on my website: www.tracidouglassbooks.com


RMA: And L.A.? What about you? LAR: I’ve got two I’m currently working on. The first is a story for a contemporary romance anthology that takes place in another fictional small town near Ft. Wayne – the other is for my new pen name (Ragan Carmichael) that is paranormal romance, specifically werewolves. It’s the first in a planned trilogy. It too is set near Fort Wayne. My books are available at most retailers and you can find the links here: https://www.laremenicky.com/books/.


RMA: Thank you both for coming by! I had a lot of fun!

17 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page